WVEMS Awards

WVEMS awards

Three Dabney S. Lancaster Community College faculty  members were honored recently as recipients of three of the ten regional awards from the Western Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services at its annual Regional Award Banquet at the Vinton War Memorial. The Regional EMS Award winners are now nominees for the 2014 Governor’s Awards, which will be announced at the OEMS Symposium in Norfolk in November. From left: DSLCC President Dr. John Rainone; Diana Coffey, RN, Carilion Clinic Life-Guard, was awarded the “ Nurse with Outstanding Contribution to EMS” Award; Jeanette Mann, DSLCC EMS Program Director, who was awarded the “Outstanding Pre-Hospital Educator” Award; and Dr. Michael Moran, was awarded the “Doctor Cheryl B. Haas Award for Outstanding EMS Physician”. Dr. Moran is the Program Medical Director for the DSLCC EMS program and Coffey is a DSLCC adjunct instructor in the nursing program.